#standorfall #patience update

Those who follow me on Twitter will be aware that this hasn’t been a great week for #patience!  Here’s some of the story.

I’m actually one of the most patient people I know.  Having worked in Behaviour Support in a state school for four years, patience is something that I have needed a great deal of.  While doing behaviour support, I’ve been shouted at, cried at, sworn at (I’ve even needed to go and look one or two words up, just so I know what I’m being called).  You name it, it’s happened.  I can’t claim to have been chilled out throughout every experience, but without patience, the job would have been utterly impossible.

However, for some reason, this patience doesn’t seem to extend to my own boys.  Are my standards for them higher?  Is it because I live with them all the time? (I’m the primary caregiver, to use a jargon term)  Or am I just a horrible person who manages to keep it all in at work and fails dismally at home?  (That’s a rhetorical question…)

Anyway, if there’s one thing that makes patience harder, it’s a lack of sleep.  (Please note, while this might be a reason for my impatience over the last week, it’s not an excuse)  I’ve been awake since about 5.15 this morning, when Little Boy decided the day had started.  I didn’t go to bed crazy-late last night, but 5.15 makes even an early bedtime less useful.  As for the night before, I was woken at 1-something, 2-something, 3-something, 4-something, 5-something and then was up from about 6.  Not ideal.  But I could just try to make sure I go to bed earlier … it might help a little.

Anyway, the fact of the matter is, this week’s #standorfall was a fairly resolute #fall.  But it’s not all doom and gloom.  First of all, the whole point of #standorfall is accountablity.  And this week, that worked quite well.  When I tweeted #fall in the middle of the week, I had supportive messages in response that I found really encouraging.  In fact, it was quite exciting (apart from the fact that I’d #fallen in the first place…) that people were doing exactly what I’d hoped they would.  They also prayed, which is another boost!

Bob Carlisle sang this:

We fall down, we get up,
We fall down, we get up,
We fall down, we get up,
And the saints are just the sinners
Who fall down … and get up (Copyright 1998 BMG Songs Inc.)

And that’s the other part of what #standorfall is about.  Standing is important, but so is getting up when you’ve fallen.  Getting up is much easier and is more likely to happen when you have friends supporting you.  Thanks to those who have supported me this week.

************Saturday night update*************

Just had a slight bedtime meltdown, and I managed to be patient with Big Boy all the way through.  He’s now in bed and has just called a cheery ‘nighty night’ down the corridor as I left.  Micah 7:7-8 says (and although this is slightly out of context, I reckon the truth can still apply here)  ‘Israel says, “I look to the Lord for help.  I will wait for God to save me; my God will hear me.  Enemy, don’t laugh at me.  I have fallen, but I will get up again.  I sit in the shadow of trouble now, but the Lord will be a light for me”‘

How has your week been?

How can you help others to stand up when they’ve fallen?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

