#standorfall #study update.

Part of me just wants to write #standorfall #study #chickenpox.

Because that’s what’s happened this week.  Little Boy’s had chickenpox.  You may have seen me looking for some Twitter sympathy earlier in the week…  But then I think to myself, what if Paul had thought to himself #standorfall #evangelise #gotstonedbyanotherangrymob and thrown in the towel on the whole missionary journey thing?

Or what if Abraham had gone through #standorfall #sacrifice #youhavegottobekiddingme and knocked the whole God-following thing on the head?

That’s not to say that my study this week will necessarily have quite the same outcome as Abraham’s willingness to sacrifice his son, or Paul’s willingness to endure all manner of hardship.  But the fact of the matter is, it was only chickenpox, and part of the idea of #standorfall is that you prioritise the things that should go first regardless of the circumstances.  You see, I’m actually quite a believer in the idea that you have time for everything you prioritise.  Does that sound wrong?  Well, certainly in my life, it’s spot on.  If I prioritise something, it fits.  If I put it first, then it fits quite readily into my life, even if other things get squeezed out.  And it’s possible to prioritise the right stuff in the time we have.  Jesus only had 24 hours in each of His days, and He didn’t mess up His priorities…

But I’m drifting off track.  The fact of the matter is that this week was pretty much scraping through on the #stand thing.  One of the studies was done at 2 o’clock one morning, but I figured as I was awake with Little Boy, it was a productive thing to do!

Here’s a little summary of things I took from my studies:

Monday – Genesis 12:1-9  God tells Abraham to move.  Sometimes we need to move, geographically or spiritually.  Reminded me of Jesus command to the woman caught in adultery – ‘Go, and sin no more’

Tuesday – 1 Samuel 17.  David and Goliath.  David discerned that Goliath was defying God, not just His people.  David therefore knew that ‘the battle is the Lord’s and He will give you into our hands.’  We need to be careful whether we’re fighting our battles or God’s

Wednesday –  Psalm 23.  The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  Wow.  That was pretty much it for Wednesday.  If I kept that in the forefront of my mind, I imagine I’d live life differently.

Thursday – started Joel.  This was the extended study, but wasn’t as extended as I’d have liked.  But it got me thinking about what the locusts might be in my life.  I’m sure there are plenty, and many are internal.

Friday – Isaiah 1.  God is fed up with His people’s hollow worship.  The heart of worship is the heart.

 

The hoards have returned.  Gotta dash.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #standorfall #study update.

  1. Tanya Marlow says:

    I love your Bible thoughts – thank you!

  2. Lucy says:

    this is really helpful to me today, thank you!

What are you thinking?

