God’s Love.

Last weekend, I had the immense privilege of speaking at our church youth weekend away.  It’s been ages since I did anything like that, so it was great to ‘get back in the saddle’.  I was asked a little late in the day (I know what you’re thinking – you’re thinking, ‘they were desperate’ 🙂 and you’d not be far wrong)  But the suggestion was made that I might like to use some of the material I’d worked on for my book.  I had been trying to work out how I might try out some of the material, so I agreed this might be a good idea.  The title for the weekend ended up as this:

You’ll notice that ‘in God’s love’ is in blue ink.  That’s because it began as getting rooted ‘in our faith’. (The observant among you will recognise that I’m into the whole ‘rooted’ concept, having written about it previously … more than once …)  However, over the course of preparation, I felt that getting rooted ‘in our faith’ felt a bit wishy-washy.  I realised that what I really wanted the young people to be rooted in was God’s love.

The more I thought about this, the more it made sense to me.  We’re not going to get through life’s storms without being rooted in God’s love, any more than a tree rooted in jelly would survive a strong breeze.  It’s just not rooted in the right stuff.  It’s crucial for Christians to be rooted in God’s love.  It’s crucial for all of us to be rooted in God’s love!

On the weekend, we were considering Spiritual Disciplines, and focusing on Study, Prayer and Worship as three with which they were probably familiar, but might not have considered in much depth.  I said to them, though, that if there was only one thing they remembered from the weekend away, it should be that God loves them.  Once we truly grasp this amazing truth, the other things, I think, come naturally.  When we see that God truly loves us, we are driven to learn more about Him through study.  When we recognise that God truly loves us, we desire to communicate with Him in prayer.  When we accept that God truly loves us, the only right response is worship.

God loves you.  Massively.

How do you respond to God’s love?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God’s Love.

  1. johnnydouglas says:

    in gratitude, humility and joy……
    just a starter thought……. would love to read the manuscript and chat some more?
    Grace and peace JD

    • nickparish says:

      Sorry, I completely failed to respond to this at the time! Yes, yes and yes to your response 🙂
      I can send you a copy of the manuscript I guess. I think I might be able to extract your email address from the notification sent to my email… If you don’t hear anything for a while, feel free to come back to me 🙂

  2. Mia says:

    Hi Nick
    It was so nice to meet you today at Tanya’s. This is my first visit to your blog and I smiled when I read your words about all the things come naturally once we KNOW that God loves us. I want to add that I think no true, deep spiritual worship can come, if we don’t grasp this truth as well as experiencing the depth of His love! I love your subtle sense of humor for it is so true that many a truth is spoken in jest.
    Blessings
    Mia (http://hisnlovingembrace.wordpress.com)

    • nickparish says:

      Hi again,
      Thanks for your kind comment about my sense of humour – it’s not a view shared by everyone I live with 😉 Maybe that’s the issue of overexposure …

What are you thinking?

