I am Barabbas.

Today I tweeted this:

And it got a bunch of retweets (not in the Justin Bieber sense, just in the the regular Tweeting person sense!).  So I kept thinking about it.

Barabbas.  His name simply means ‘Son of the Father’.  Some translations call him Jesus Barabbas (following certain source texts that include ‘Jesus’ in his name).

We know very little about him.  Matthew tells us he was a well-known prisoner.  Mark tells us he was with the rebels who had committed murder in an uprising.  Luke tells us he was in prison for an insurrection and murder.  John tells us he had taken part in an uprising.

He was not a good man.  Chances are, he was awaiting execution.  Murderers didn’t tend to get the softly softly treatment.

Barabbas.  Son of the father.  Sinner.  A man who deserves nothing good.

“You are My Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”

And now Jesus stands trial.  He is One who deserves nothing bad.  His ministry has been love.  His miracles; love.  His relationships; love.  His teaching; love.  His prayer in the garden just a few hours ago; love.

And standing here before the authorities.  Love.  No crime of His has brought Him here.  It is His love that brings Him to this place and His love that keeps Him here.

Jesus.  Son of the Father.  Saviour.  One who deserves nothing bad.

There are those who speculate that perhaps the cross that Jesus carried to his crucifixion was the cross that Barabbas was due to be crucified on.  The cross that Barabbas deserved to die on was the one that Jesus bore and the one that bore Jesus.

I don’t know about that.  But one thing I do know is this:

That cross was mine.

I am Barabbas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am Barabbas.

  1. Helen Murray says:

    It was my cross too. It’s more amazing to me every year.
    Thanks for this. Often overlook Barabbas. I wonder if he made himself scarce or went to see what would happen to the other guy. I wonder if his heart stayed hard or was broken that day.
    Great post. Simple and powerful.

What are you thinking?

