Waiting with hope.

IMG_3899Yesterday, Good Friday, I did some gardening. Perhaps not what you’d consider an appropriate activity for such a day. But I sowed a bunch of seeds. And as I was doing so, I was thinking about that verse in John:

Very truly I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.

And I was thinking, too, about the anticipation of the coming weeks as I keep looking at the soil to see whether anything’s growing.  And thinking, therefore, of the anticipation that we Christians feel between now and Easter Sunday.  Not waiting for something that just might happen, but waiting for something that we can be certain will happen.  Jesus’ resurrection brings such great hope.  Jesus’ burial was not the end of the story; new life did come.

IMG_3896I’m thinking, too, of some dear friends who have recently gone through the grief of losing a family member, and how they are resting on the hope that comes with knowing that her death and burial, like Jesus’, is not the end of the story.

What are you hopeful about this Easter?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waiting with hope.

  1. I’ve added your blog to my list of inspirational blogs http://suesconsideredtrifles.wordpress.com/links/
    Sue

  2. Pingback: Waiting with hope. | Intentional Communities

What are you thinking?

