A million ideas …

… buzzing around my head, and yet not a single blog post for over a month.

It’s not like I haven’t had anything I want to say.  It’s just that I’ve not got round to saying it.  Or maybe I’m just not sure it’s worth saying out loud…

Hopefully, this post will end up peppered with links to other posts I’ve written, as I actually get around to writing about these topics, but only time will tell.  In the meantime, there are plenty of links to other things to keep you busy for a while 🙂

The first of my (not exceptionally good) reasons for failing to write was that I was preparing a sermon.  I actually found this one quite difficult – perhaps the hardest so far?  But here it is.  (The illustration doesn’t work quite so well with no visuals…)

We’re also in the process of trying to sell our house.  It’s a real beauty – anyone thinking of moving to Worthing?  Ideal for Londoners looking to escape the big smoke – five minutes from the station 😉  Lovely garden and log cabin.  I miss that log cabin.

I’ve played a lot of Candy Crush.  That’s a blog post in itself.  [and here that post is!]

Tuesday this week, my first day with no ‘commitments’ for a while, I felt rough all day, and failed to achieve anything.  I hate days like that.  And I read Tanya’s interview with Simon Guillebaud and found myself challenged by the extent to which my circumstances shape and define my mood and my ‘ability’ to work.

I’ve also been working a fair bit on the book – sending out copies to people asking for their contributions.  I’ve had some very positive responses now, and this week in particular has ended up being encouraging, following a period of waiting…  But this, too, takes time.

I really want to write a blog about Sheridan Voysey’s wonderful book ‘Resurrection Year’.  (The link there is to buy it from eden.co.uk, which is a sort of Christian equivalent of amazon.  It’s actually cheaper on Eden at the moment, and neither Amazon nor Eden are offering free delivery under £10, so when I bought a copy from Eden, I bought something else (for £1.42, I believe) that was cheaper than paying the under-£10 delivery charge and got me free delivery.  I’ve always been very impressed with Eden!)  I haven’t written the book review post yet, partly because I’ve not completely finished ‘processing’ the book and partly because I want to make a good job of the blog post, because I think the book deserves it.  If anyone wants to borrow a copy, I’ll happily post you one – returning it to me when you’ve finished it would be cheaper than buying your own 🙂

I’ve also had a lot going on in my little brain, lately.  First, this post from Threads resonated rather…  There’s also the small question of what to do next year when Luke’s started full-time school.  (Yes, he really is going to be that old!).  Returning to a job in education would be one possibility, but another would be heading into the world of vicaring (or something similar).  Comments and suggestions are welcome!

I’ve been challenged to pray more following various things I’ve seen and read, both from friends and from the general world.  But I’ve not been particularly good at rising to this challenge…

And I’m really struggling with time-management type stuff.  Perhaps that’s linked to the lack of clarity regarding the future, or perhaps it’s just because I’m useless at getting myself in gear.  My desk could do with a tidy.  Again.

And occasionally, I distract myself with jobs that might be satisfying, and vaguely worthy, but aren’t what you could call ‘vital’.  Like cleaning the brass door stopper things for our front door.  Because that’s how I roll.

Meanwhile, Luke’s been in the bath for a long time now, and will end up strongly resembling a prune if I don’t extract him in the not-too-distant future.  Though he’s having lots of fun, and I’m enjoying writing this while sat next to him (not too close, mind – he’s a bit liberal with his splashing!).

I wonder how your life’s going?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A million ideas …

  1. Tanya Marlow says:

    Thanks for the shout-out! So glad you appreciated Simon’s interview. He’s an amazing guy.

    And oo – I could totally see you as a vicar. Or school chaplain! (Even more as school chaplain).

What are you thinking?

