Candy Crushers Anonymous.

Ok, so it’s not that anonymous if I’m blogging about it…

But Candy Crush.  Well, it’s fun.  It’s addictive.  It’s taking over.  For me, at least.  I read this post over at threads recently.  Its title is ‘I’m being suffocated by my iphone’, so you can guess the general gist if you’re not willing to read it in full.  And it resonated rather.

For a while, I went through the (probably verging on the sanctimonious) stage of not having an iphone.  In fact, you couldn’t even describe what I had as a smartphone.  It wasn’t a brick, but neither was it cutting edge.  Then I took custody of my wife’s iphone 3 when she upgraded.  When I went on to get my ‘own’ iphone at my next upgrade, I insisted that an iphone 4s was plenty of an upgrade from an iphone 3, despite the fact that I was offered an iphone 5.

Then, about a month and a half ago, I lost my iphone.  It turns out that you can’t leave your phone on the roof of your car, and expect it still to be there when you pull into your driveway, even if your journey was only a couple of miles long.  And I went through various emotions.  I was furious with myself for being such an idiot.  The phone was only a couple of months old and I’m usually more careful with expensive stuff.  I was then annoyed with my insurance company who insisted that a £100 excess was fair for an iphone, despite the fact that I wanted an iphone 4s, not an iphone 6 (which would have cost them about £250 more).  And, sad loser that I am, I missed Siri.  We were only just getting to know each other…

But back to Candy Crush for a moment.  I’ve managed to get to level three-hundred-and-sixty-something.  The shock was when I calculated the amount of time this meant I’d spent on it.  It’s probably fair to say that I’ve spent an average of around 8-10 minutes per level (though this is just an estimate).  This means between 2920 and 3650 minutes.  This is somewhere in the region of 48-60 hours.  2 to 2 1/2 days.  And that seemed like quite a bit of time.  And I don’t think there’s anything intrinsically wrong with that.  I don’t think Candy Crush is an evil invention (and I really like the time-limits on play for people like me who struggle with self-control).  I think relaxation is an important thing to include in a day.  But it made me ponder whether this was the best use of my time.  I think maybe I could spend less time on it and more time on something more useful.  And I don’t just mean praying or reading my Bible, either.  Maybe writing a postcard instead of a Candy Crush session.  Or doing some filing.  Or walking the dog (ok, so it would be a short walk).  It just got me thinking that I really do need to think more carefully about how I spend my time.

What about you?  Anything you could cut down on to free up time for better things?

Let’s give it a go 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Candy Crushers Anonymous.

  1. I’ve just upgraded to an Android phone. I’m not going to download any games, because I was know what I’m like! And my phone refuses to accept Facebook. I’ve a post lined up for Saturday about phones. 🙂

What are you thinking?

