New.

Have you made any New Year’s Resolutions?  And how are they going?  I decided that I wasn’t going to make any until the 17th of January.  Apparently, this is sometimes referred to as ‘Ditch New Year’s Resolutions Day’.  It’s apparently the day the resolve often gives out…  But anyway, this post isn’t about New Year’s Resolutions.

It’s about ‘New’.

I wonder what the word New means to you.  Perhaps you got a bunch of new presents at Christmas.  Perhaps it’s the New Year that springs to mind.  Maybe there’s a new family member, a new favourite telly programme.  A new term, a new job, a new habit.  A new you?

‘New’ often means that something has changed.  Who you are, what you have, how you live.

One of the presents I was given at Christmas was most definitely not ‘New’.  It was made by my Granny.  Here it is: photo-1 (2)As it happens, it’s a verse that’s cropped up a few times in recent days.  Chatting with some lads I meet with weekly, we discussed the word ‘New’, and I then drew their attention to this verse, thinking about what it means.  When I picked up our elder son from his church club, he was weilding a 2015 calendar with the verse printed at the bottom.  Then today, I was reading an article about Bob Fu in Christianity magazine, and there was the verse again.

Right now, I’m feeling far from new.  I feel a bit bedraggled and old.  And really rather tired.  But the fact of the matter is, I have been made new.  That’s something I need to be reminded of on a regular basis.  The wonder of the gospel is that we are made new.

Over to you…

Any tips on feeling ‘made new’?

(I apologise for any confusing dating in this post – it was written over a period of two weeks, for reasons which I may explain elsewhere…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New.

  1. Mary says:

    That your Grannie spelt her name that way … which is why I spell mine Granny … because I simply can’t match her xxx

  2. Mary says:

    Typical negative instant reaction from me there…. Sorry! I was really touched to see the cross-stitch. Feeling made new? Hmm. I love that hymn that starts “New every morning is the love our waking and uprising prove…” though I have to admit to a sudden alienation when I’m assured that I’m “restored to life and power and thought”. Anyone who has habitually seen me in the morning will understand why. But newness is often taking a firmer grasp on the old: so that what has moulded us becomes an ever-stronger foundation from which (mixed-metaphor-alert) new flowers constantly spring. And sometimes, taking the old, and turning it in our hands as we turned Grannie’s cross-stitch this Christmas, brings the sense of those growing flowers and rising butterflies…

What are you thinking?

