Ordination.

Ok, so I was struggling with a title.  It’s Star Wars day, so I thought maybe I’d go for:

— .-. -.. .. -. .- – .. — -.

Because, you know, ‘use the Morse, Luke’.  But I figured that would be sad.  And I didn’t want to saddle you with any daft puns (use the horse, Luke).  Maybe I could just settle on the theme of a journey or path (use the course…).  Perhaps I could announce that I was going to be sponsored through ordination training by Heinz (use the sauce…).  But no, I’ll stay serious.

Oh.

Anyway, today was the second ‘chat with the vicar’.  It was nice to have another catch up, which was of course preceded by taking some more time for myself to think and pray a bit more about this whole idea.  I did find myself on the school run this morning thinking maybe now would be a good time to chicken out.  That would certainly be the easier option.

But when the vicar (who henceforth shall be called Martin) asked the question along the lines of ‘do you still want to pursue this?’, my answer was ‘yes’.  So pursue it we shall.  I told him some of the responses to my facebook post ahead of the first chat (which all seemed pretty positive) and he said that was useful to know.  So thanks to those who commented!

We talked church, and frustrations, and life.  We talked about our church specifically, too.  He’s spoken to the DDO since our first meeting, so the next move is for me to get in touch with the DDO.  Then I think we’ll meet up.  And, if I remember correctly (I only slept for 4 hours last night, so my memory potential is somewhat reduced, despite the meeting only happening two hours ago) Martin and the DDO and I will then all meet up together and talk about ‘what next’.

And there’s a vocations day in October that seems like a wholly sensible thing to do.

So there’s a speedy squeeze-it-in-before-lunch update on the process.

I’ll keep you posted 🙂

This entry was posted in Ordination and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ordination.

  1. Tanya Marlow says:

    Yay! Do it!!

  2. Pam Smith says:

    Good to hear things are progressing. Keep us posted!

  3. frmary66 says:

    I am thinking – “Well, I knew it. I’m incapable of posting anything here. There was that lovely long post in response, and it’s gone into the ether via arguments about passwords and all sorts…”

  4. frmary66 says:

    So shall I try again?

  5. Julia Stentoft says:

    Nick, I think you will be fantastic in the role and any church would be truly blessed to have you as their vicar. I shall be praying for you every step of the way!

  6. Go for it, keep looking and listening..

  7. frmary66 says:

    I’m thinking, Nick, my dear, that I now have absolutely no idea what I said in the post that didn’t post… And being currently in Suffolk, I can’t find the energy to drag it out of my brain. Maybe later.

What are you thinking?

