Glorious, glorified.

Just a quick blog from me, to get me back into the swing of things…

I was reading a Psalm yesterday, and this phrase was there at the beginning and end of the Psalm:

O Lord our governor, how glorious is your name in all the world.

And I mulled it over.  Because God’s name might not be glorified very much, but it’s still glorious.  We might not see many people acknowledging God’s greatness.  We might experience things that cloud His glory.  But He is still glorious.

You see, these pictures show nature, and it’s glorious.  But it isn’t glorious simply because I noticed it.  It isn’t glorious because I took a photo of it.  It isn’t glorious because I posted it on a blog.  It’s just glorious.  Wonderful and beautiful and all sorts of other things.

Likewise, God is glorious.  He isn’t glorious because of our acknowledgement, or our honour, or our approval.  He just is glorious.  Glorious is a state of being.  The question for me is, ‘What am I going to do about it?’  How am I going to respond to God’s glory?  Being blind to God’s glory is crazy.  Being aware of it but failing to respond to it is hiding from the truth.  The Bible tells me that a right response to God’s glory is to glorify Him.  To see His glory, to acknowledge it, and to praise Him for it.

What am I doing to glorify God this week?  Because I think I’m often as inclined to drift past God’s glory as easily as I brush past a stunning flower that, on another day, might so easily catch my attention.  Maybe it’s because I’m sort of dulled to the concept.  But that’s not ok.  Maybe I’m in a bit of a rush, but that’s no excuse.

He is glorious.  How will I respond?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

