Happy Christmas?

We’ve had a busy sort of day.  Getting up early to put the oven on.  Stockings.  Eating.  Church (which included me doing some drama stuff!).  Fourteen at lunch.  More presents.  More eating.  Dog walk.  Keeping the fire well fed with logs.  Making turkey stock.  Eating.  Relaxing.  Watching Frozen.  Putting the kids to bed.  Eating.

It’s been a busy day.  But it’s been a good day.  A day to revel in the awesome love of a God who came to be with us.  A day with family and friends.  A day with lots of food.  A day of celebration.  A day with presents 🙂

But I’ve been thinking a bit more this year about those for whom Christmas might not have been happy.  People for whom it’s been a slog.  Or painful.  Or greiving.  Or all these things and more besides.  I’ve been thinking (and praying) for those who’ve had a Messy Christmas, rather than a Merry one.  For those whose Christmas has not been quite as good as it had been in the past.

Sometimes life is just tough.  A recent conversation I had really brought that home for me (I won’t go into detail here what the conversation was or the experience surrounding it – maybe I will another day – suffice it to say it’s made me think hard).  So if you’re someone for whom Christmas has been difficult, I just wanted you to know that I’ve been praying for you.  If I know you, and know something of your difficulties, then that prayer will have been pretty focused, but if I don’t know you, please know that I have prayed.  You’re in my head and heart.  There’s that slightly odd Christian expression, “I’ve really had [insert name of person, or event, or country or anything else!] on my heart lately”.  Well if you’re someone who’s had a tricky Christmas, I’ve had you on my heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

