Unfolding purposes…

…the unfolding purposes of God, forever at work in ourselves and the world.

Morning Service from the Iona Abbey Worship Book

One of the benefits of lockdown has been that our church has done Zoom Morning Prayer every weekday. One of the orders of service we’ve used for this has been from the Iona Community.

This morning, I’ve been thinking in particular about the line this post started with. In full, it’s, “With all creation, we celebrate the miracle and wonder of life; the unfolding purposes of God, forever at work in ourselves and the world.”

And if I’m honest, I think it’s the ‘unfolding’ bit that sometimes gets to me. I know that patience is a virtue, and all that, but sometimes I wish we’d get to see things a bit quicker. The unfolding reminds us that there’s a bit of waiting to be had. It feels like there’s been a fair bit of ‘unfolding’ in the last couple of years.

Sometimes, I guess I’d just like God to move a bit faster. But awkwardly, there are also times when I’d quite like things to go a bit slower (such as when an essay deadline is looming!). So maybe God’s got the unfolding purposes just about right…

Anything you’d like God to unfold a bit quicker or slower at the moment, or is that just me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Unfolding purposes…

  1. frmary66 says:

    I think Covid has attacked the “unfolding” so much too: everything is magnified. But one of your “unfoldings” is only just over 7 weeks away now…. xx

What are you thinking?